5x4 field camera wanted

Discussion in 'Wanted' started by Tony lee, Sep 17, 2018.

1. Tony lee

Tony lee New Member Registered User

Ive a project coming up an I’m wanting to buy a field camera, anyone? I’ve owned a few 5x4s over the years so not a complete beginner

2. mpirie

mpirie Member Registered User

Hi Tony,

You may be more successful if you are more specific....ie. wooden field or metal field?

A budget might help too.

Mike

3. Ian Grant

Ian Grant Active Member Registered User

Home Page:

I've never seen a metal field camera, there are metal press and technical cameras. Press cameras like the Graflex/Toyo Super Graphics have less movements than modern wooden field cameras. Technical cameras such as the Linhof Technika, MPP Micro technical and Japanese equivalents are usually a bit heavier than wooden field camera and have triple rather than double extension, they are also much more rigid.

Ian

4. David M

David M Well-Known Member Registered User

If you could describe the project a little more, perhaps...

5. Tony lee

Tony lee New Member Registered User

Hi David I’ve no hang ups between wood or metal as long as the camera accepts my 65mm,90mm, and 150mm lenses on wista type lens boards.
    The project is to document at risk monuments, landscape and buildings for Historic England.
    Tony

6. David M

So something like the Walker Titan XL might be ideal?
    However, if you are travelling to known locations, rather than yomping o'er vale and hill, there seems to be no reason why you shouldn't consider using a more versatile monorail. There are adaptors for Linhof-to-Sinar lens boards and other combinations if you need them. Bag bellows might be needed for the 65mm lens and would be useful for the 90mm.
    You may also be considering longer-term use after the project is finished. That is, if the endangering of our heritage is ever finished.​

7. Robin Brigham

Robin Brigham New Member Registered User

hi Ian