Uncoated lens

Discussion in 'Talk About Large Format Gear' started by Ian-Barber, Dec 17, 2016.

1. Ian-Barber

Ian-Barber Administrator Staff Member

Home Page:
    When I started to become interested in black and white film, it was photographs made by people such as Joseph Sudek that interested me. Not only the genre which he was known for (still life) but also the overall look to his images.

The more I studied other photographers of his era, the more I was seeing something about the photographs which was appealing to me.

It's hard to explain, but they appear to look low in contrast but at the same time have good blacks and whites. During the past few weeks, martin and I have been discussing this and we have more or less come to the conclusion that the lens plays a big part in the overall look.

Martin has been making some photographs with his 1930's Voitlander Bessa which also has an uncoated lens and this look is starting to show in his negatives.

Question:
    I have been trawling eBay to see if any un-coated lens pop up for 5x4. How difficult would it be to mount one of these lenses to a modern lensboard and is there anything I need to be aware of incase I see one for sale.

2. Stephen Batey

Stephen Batey Well-Known Member

None (retired)
  3. Ian-Barber

Home Page:
    Thanks Stephen, looks an interesting book

4. Stephen Batey

None (retired)
    It is; I got one free from Robert White when I bought something.

All lenses reduce the subject brightness range (don't think "low contrast" so much as "lift the shadows" as you'll still get a full run from black to white). A good multicoated one will reduce the SBR by a factor of two and the factor increases as coatings are reduced and lens elements go up. Very few old lenses will have more than 4 elements - I don't count the six element uncoated Symmars as old because they are from within the last 70 years or so.

5. Ian-Barber

Home Page: