To boldly go....into 4x5

Danny Rowton

Hi all

Im thinking about Large Format every day, but dont have a LF camera!

Im a film only shooter and I joined the forum today. I shoot Medium Format (Pentax 6x7 and Fuji GW690III) and the odd bit of 35mm. I love it, I really do. I dont do it enough, but thats time constraints not effort. I think the situation has come about because when I was shooting 35mm and saw how great things can look in 120, I went 95% Medium Format. Now, you can guess where this is heading! Yes. Now I see 4x5 stuff and think theres a place for this in replacement of Medium Format.

I know what set up I want too. But may need to make space financially by selling my old bass guitar, as I used to be a pro musician a few years ago.

Ive been inspired by modern 4x5 people like Jason Lee and Sandy Phimester, as well as the usual classic LF shooters of yore. Its all heading towards 4x5, but if Im honest, with my full time 'day job', part time degree studies and 2 little boys, my hands are full. Would you recommend holding off or just go for it? What are your experiences when you think back to how you all got into Large Format?

martin henson

Admin
Staff member
It's slow, thoughtful and very different from the cameras your using now, however, because of those reasons its a relaxed way of working and enjoyable go for it and have a go you will not regret it, do you have a darkroom or are you developing and scanning negatives?

Danny Rowton

Hi Martin

I dont have a darkroom. I wish!!!!!
Ive been scanning my own negs for a couple of years and just started developing black and white, as Ive only just recently started thinking on a different plain. My usual thing has been sparse night time urban landscapes. Long exposures without human activity.