Ilford Delta 5x4 Sheet Film

Ian-Barber

Admin
I've used Pyrocat HD with Tmax 100 & 400, Acros, Fortepan 200, EFKE (Adox) PL25, Delta 100 & 400, HP5 and also Fpmapan 100 & 200, all with excellent results.

All the films get the same 17mins development @ 20ºC 1+1 to 100 n a Jobo 2000 tank or Paterson Systen 4 2 or 2 inversions every minute. water stop bath and Hypam or Ilford Raod fixer. The only exceptions are Fomapan 100 & 200 at half box speed which needs significantly less development 12 mins @ 20ºC, and for 10x8 sheet film I usually process 2+2 to 100 for 11 mins 20ºC in a tray.

These days I use Pyrocat HD for all my films, I predominantly shoot Delta 100 & 400 and HP5, Fortepan as a backup, but I still have some boxes of 10x8 EFKE PL25 and Fortepan 200 left. I guess I've been using the developer for about 14 years.

Ian

Just been re-reading your post you submitted in March @Ian Grant , and I was wondering how you rate Delta 400 against TMAX 400 developed in Pyrocat. I see you give them both 17 minutes and although you never said, I am guessing you rated them both at ISO 400.

I have been using some TMAX 400 but developed for 15 minutes and I really like the tones it produces, the grain is extremely fine but the results are sharp. I can't really justify the cost of TMAX £150 a box so I want to try and find an alternative. I have narrowed my options down to either HP5 or Delta 100 because I don't think Delta 400 is available in sheet Film

Last edited:
I always rated Tmax films at half their box speed, however I'd switched to Delta 100 & 400 and HP5 for LF bfore Kodak reformulated Tmax 400.