underexposed fomapan 100

Is there any clue on the film packaging, like a sell-by date?
Film is usually much more stable than paper.

Nope, it was stuck in my camera bag for possibly up to 10 years. I'm just wondering if it's a dilution of developer thing.

Ten years isn’t all that long for B+W film. It would be different for colour or multi-grade paper.
Have you tried a darkroom print? All the necessary detail seems to have been captured, which is the important thing, and the proponents of split-grade printing seem to promise miracles. Were you hoping for a negative that would print perfectly with no intervention? That would be a rare and wonderful thing.
I’m not the person to advise on the various split-grade techniques, but others on the forum will know more.

what is split grade printing?
let me guess.
exposing the blacks with magenta filters the exposing the whites with yellows?

I'm not an expert on this, but briefly, you're right.
There seems to be a great deal more to it and practitioners make all sorts of claims for its versatility and subtlety.
As well as control over overall grade and the distribution of tonality, dodging and burning can be done with either filter for very fine control. I have even heard of flashing...
If you've read of Steve Sherman on this forum, he uses blue and green filters for the same purpose, as did the out-of-production Phillips enlarger. They are the complementary colours to magenta and yellow. Mr Sherman has originated and advocates an entire system of exposure, development and printing. He also wears a baseball cap in his darkroom.
The more common magenta and yellow filters are adjusted to give even grade-spacing and constant exposures when changing grades.
Although split-grade printing has been possible since variable contrast paper was introduced in the 1940s, it's only since exhibition-grade papers have become available that it seems to have become so popular.