Hello!

Adrian Lambert

Hi all.
I’m a middle age professional that spent the formative years behind large format Sinar cameras. I still own a Sinar f but my fave LF Camera is a modded Polaroid land camera, like the 185s that shoots 4x5 sheets - similar to the Chamonix Saber cameras. I’m currently building a neg digitisation station using a 240mm Fuji A lens whereby I’ll shift my DSLR adapted to the rear standard of the Sinar f to compile a set of captures that when stitched will cover the 4x5 neg. Early testing has given me a very satisfactory 1.5m digital file at print resolution. I’m looking for an affordable but strong copy stand to complete the set up. Also considering a LF darkroom.
I’m based in Glossop on the edge of the Peak District but feel more drawn to urban landscape than rural or wild landscape.

David M

Welcome.
A very interesting setup. Is it possible to describe its advantages over using a scanner? If the advantage is that you enjoy constructing ingenious solutions to problems, that would be fine, but I do remain curious.

Ian Grant

Welcome Adrian. I began by shooting rural industrial landscapes before shifting to urban industrial landscapes so can understand where you're coming from.

In my case it's not a complete shift as so projects take me back to the rural landscape, and even cityscapes although of the archaeological variety :D

I sometimes shoot in the Peak District but may last photographic visit was a few years ago and it's time I returned . . . . . . .

Ian

Adrian Lambert

Welcome.
A very interesting setup. Is it possible to describe its advantages over using a scanner? If the advantage is that you enjoy constructing ingenious solutions to problems, that would be fine, but I do remain curious.